Connect with us


England Euro 2021 Squad Announcement




England Euro 2021 Squad Announcement

Gareth Southgate has announced his eagerly anticipated his 26 man squad for the upcoming European Championship finals this summer. This comes exactly a week after he named his 33 man provisional squad.

Which means that he’s had to take 7 players out of the squad and with the heap of talent Southgate has at his disposal it was never going to be easy. However this morning it was made slightly easier when Mason Greenwood opted out of the squad to ensure he can fully recover from an underlying injury.

Therefore the other 6 players who Southgate decided should stay at home are: Aaron Ramsdale, Ben Godfrey, Ben White, Jesse Lingard, James Ward Prowse, Mason Greenwood and Ollie Watkins.

It was expected that Ramsdale, Godfrey and White would miss out having not had any International experience before. It’s understandable with Ward-Prowse missing out considering the amount of talent Southgate has in the midfield. But It is hard not to feel sorry for Lingard after having such an impressive second half to the season playing an influential role in helping West Ham to an Europa League place.

The inclusion of Bellingham over a player like Jesse Lingard who has proven himself at international level and had a very good end to the season on loan at West Ham will divide opinions. It also shows how much faith Southgate has in youngsters to perform on the highest stage with Saka, Foden, Rice and Sancho all also on the plane. This is matched however with a good breadth of experience throughout the squad with Harry Kane, arguably the best and most in demand striker in the world and a player who captained Liverpool to a Champions League and Premier League, in Jordan Henderson.

Also the 3 Chelsea players James, Chilwell and Mount who picked up Champions league winners medals last week will be eager to prove why they are worthy of that, With many anticipating Mason Mount to play a vital role in how far England can go in the tournament.

This means that it is a first major tournament for 15 of Southgate’s 26 man squad with only 10 players remaining from the World Cup squad in 2018.

It can be argued that on paper this is one of England’s strongest teams heading for a major tournament in the last 15 years with English players breaking through into starting lineups of the best teams in the world and with the Champions League final featuring 2 English teams, there is a lot to be excited about for English teams this summer.


This means that the England squad to try and bring football home this summer looks like this:


  • Jordan Pickford
  • Dean Henderson
  • Sam Johnston


  • Trent Alexander-Arnold
  • Ben Chilwell
  • Conor Coady
  • Reece James
  • Harry Maguire
  • Tyrone Mings
  • Luke Shaw
  • John Stones
  • Kieran Trippier
  • Kyle Walker


  • Jude Bellingham
  • Jordan Henderson
  • Mason Mount
  • Kalvin Phillips
  • Declan Rice


  • Dominic Calvert-Lewin
  • Phil Foden
  • Jack Grealish
  • Harry Kane
  • Marcus Rashford
  • Bukayo Saka
  • Jadon Sancho
  • Raheem Sterling


We hope you enjoyed this article ‘England Euro 2021 Squad Announcement’. How do you think England will get on at the Euros this summer? Let us know!


Read more on football here:

Olly is currently doing a degree in sports journalism at Leeds Trinity University. He is an Ipswich Town fan and enjoys playing football and tennis in his spare time. His aspiration is to one day become a leading sports journalist within the online journalism sector.


Copyright © 2019 Sporting Ferret | All Rights Reserved