Connect with us

All Sports

BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2019: When is it on and who are the finalists



Sports Personality 2019
Spread the love

Sports Personality of the Year 2019

It is that festive period that brings us one of the greatest sporting award ceremonies in the world, the BBC Sports Personality of the Year awards.


What Channel can I watch BBC Sport Personality of the Year Awards on?



What time is BBC Sport Personality of the Year Awards on?



What date is BBC Sport Personality of the Year Awards on?

Sunday 15 December


What is Sports Personality of the Year?

BBC Sports Personality of the Year (SPOTY) is one of the most prestigious awards in British sport, as it is entirely voted for by the public.

This year has a famous host of presenters such as Gary Lineker, Gabby Logan and Clare Balding. They will present to an audience of 10,000 and a TV audience of millions.


BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2019 contenders?

  1. Dina Asher-Smith (Athletics): With a new national record Dina is the first British won to win a major worldwide sprint title, winning the 200m gold. Dina also won silver medals in the 100m and 4x100m sprints.
  2. Lewis Hamilton (Formula 1): Won his sixth world title with an overall grand prix career wins of 83.
  3. Katarina Johnson-Thompson (Athletics): Won the World Athletics Championship in the heptathlon.
  4. Alun Wyn Jones (Rugby union): Six nations Grand Slam captain, also crowned Wales most capped player.
  1. Raheem Sterling (Football): Won Premier League, FA Cup and Carabao Cup with Manchester City.
  2. Ben Stokes (Cricket): Made an unbeaten 135 against Australia in the third test Ashes, which secured England’s World Cup win.


How can I vote for BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2019?

Voting will open as announced in the BBC show. There are two ways to vote: by phone or for free online.

If you vote online, you will to set us a BBC account.

If you want to vote by phone, numbers will be displayed in the BBC show and online when voting opens.


BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award winners

Year Winner Sport Second Sport Third Sport
2008  Chris Hoy (SCO) Cycling  Lewis Hamilton (ENG) Formula One  Rebecca Adlington (ENG) Swimming
2009  Ryan Giggs (WAL) Football  Jenson Button (ENG) Formula One  Jessica Ennis (ENG) Athletics
2010  Tony McCoy (NIR) Horse racing  Phil Taylor (ENG) Darts  Jessica Ennis (ENG) Athletics
2011  Mark Cavendish (IOM) Cycling  Darren Clarke (NIR) Golf  Mo Farah (ENG) Athletics
2012  Bradley Wiggins (ENG) Cycling  Jessica Ennis (ENG) Athletics  Andy Murray (SCO) Tennis
2013  Andy Murray (SCO) Tennis  Leigh Halfpenny (WAL) Rugby union  Tony McCoy (NIR) Horse racing
2014  Lewis Hamilton (ENG) Formula One  Rory McIlroy (NIR) Golf  Jo Pavey (ENG) Athletics
2015  Andy Murray (SCO) Tennis  Kevin Sinfield (ENG) Rugby league  Jessica Ennis-Hill (ENG) Athletics
2016  Andy Murray (SCO) Tennis  Alistair Brownlee (ENG) Triathlon  Nick Skelton (ENG) Show jumping
2017  Mo Farah (ENG) Athletics  Jonathan Rea (NIR) World Superbike  Jonnie Peacock (ENG) Athletics
2018  Geraint Thomas (WAL) Cycling  Lewis Hamilton (ENG) Formula One  Harry Kane (ENG) Football